Calculating PET list mode factors

Hello Everyone,

My apologies for asking elementary question as I am a beginner. I am in the process of creating input data for reconstruction. I have generated .cdf file for PET list mode that contains only crystal ids and the time. I am trying to calculate other fields in the list mode as well. However, I am a little bit at a loss. Any help with the following would be appreciated.

1- Why is the scatter intensity rate dependent on TOF while the random intensity rate is not? What do a normalized and un-normalized random/scatter mean?

2- How can I compute, un-normalized random/scatter intensity rate, attenuation factor, and normalization factor for a simple event/LOR? I mean image I have just only Event or LOR, How can I compute each factor for this specific event. I am trying to get an intuition of these notions.

I have seen some related topics like the following topics. However, I would like to see how one can calculated the factors manually just for only one event/LOR to understand the concept better.

Bests,
Seyyed

Hello All;

Can someone help me to find out an answer to the following questions?

1- Why is the scatter intensity rate dependent on TOF while the random intensity rate is not? What do a normalized and un-normalized random/scatter mean?

2- How can I compute, un-normalized random/scatter intensity rate, attenuation factor, and normalization factor for a simple event/LOR? I mean image I have just only Event or LOR, How can I compute each factor for this specific event. I am trying to get an intuition of these notions.

Best regards,
Seyyed

Hello Syyed,

1. A random coincidence is the accidental detection of two photons coming from two distinct decays. These photons are not correlated in time, hence the rate of random coincidences does not depend on the detection time difference.