SPECT reading Interfile

Dear Castor developers

I ran into this release a week ago and it is really a nice contribution you have made. I have been working with Monte Carlo simulations for many years developing the program simind and often I get this question of supplying reconstruction software since simind only produce projections. So being able to direct to your webpage would be natural.

However, I dont understand how to read data into castor-recon. I also use Interfile and float values so when reading in the manual at you are using interfile for both input data and output gave me confidence for a smooth connection. But I dont see how to actual do this. I checked the spect benchmark file but the cdh format is different. So my question is how I can read in for example a 64x64 float matrices for 64 angles stored in a data file and with an associated interfile header file.

Dear Michael,

Thanks for your interest. Interfile format is only used as input/output format for image (not projection data). As you have seen, input data for SPECT (and also for PET) is composed of 2 files: a header file (.Cdh) and a binary file (.Cdf) storing the data from a machine or a Monte Carlo simulation. Here is some information about this Cdf file. This file is not a pure histogram (a successive number of counts by bin). The Data should (must) be arrange as described in the “CASToR general documentation” page 30.

For instance, in the case of a 64x64 float matrix for 64 angles (and I consider you don’t have both normalization and scatter informations), your Cdf file should contain 262 144 events (64x64x64) with the following format:

EVENT 0:
time: 0 (uint32_t)
data: 32 (float/double) it’s your data for a specific bin
projection ID: 0 (uint32_t) it’s the angle ID between 0 and 63 in this example
binID: 0 (uint32_t) it’s the bin ID between 0 and (64x64 – 1) in this example